Fayann Simpson joins ISSG

Published on 07/10/2019

L&Q has today announced that Fayann Simpson has joined the Industry Safety Steering Group (ISSG) and has committed to championing the views of residents.

The ISSG will be chaired by Dame Judith Hackitt, the author of the Building a Safer Future review, which called for an overhaul of the regulatory regime for tower blocks.

Fayann is Chair of L&Q’s Resident Services Group and a member of Group Board. She has been an L&Q resident for over 20 years.

She said: “I am delighted to be joining the ISSG. There is no greater priority than safety. Creating a lasting legacy of safer and better quality homes is of national importance. The people who live in the homes we build must sit front and centre in our thinking. I believe the ISSG has a key role in pushing forward positive change in the building industry and I am proud to be part of it.”

Fayann is passionate about resident involvement and is a firm believer in the value of effective resident involvement to both improve services and hold L&Q to account.

The ISSG was set up to hold to account industry players responsible for driving forward specific elements of the Building Safety Programme by providing appropriate constructive challenge to industry, recommending actions and making proposals to overcome blockages and accelerate industry culture change.

The role of the Industry Safety Steering Group will be to:

• provide strategic level oversight of cross industry delivery work on the Building Safety Programme

• advocate for and promote broader systemic change

• provide constructive challenge to industry and hold industry to account

• advise Government on possible action to accelerate industry culture change in areas where only Government can act.

Full membership of the ISSG

Chair - Dame Judith Hackitt - Independent Review of Building Regulations and Fire Safety
Atula Abeysekera - Professor of Practice (Risk Management), Imperial College London
Dr David Snowball - Acting chief executive, Health and Safety Executive
Dame Deirdre Hutton DBE - Chair, Civil Aviation Authority
Elaine Bailey - Group CEO, Hyde Housing
Jeremy Pocklington - Director General of Housing and Building Safety, MHCLG
Professor John Cole - Construction and Procurement Industry Expert, Royal Institute of British Architect
John Roberts - UK Construction Industry Leader, Willis Towers Watson
Ken Rivers - President, The Institution of Chemical Engineers (IChemE)
Nick Coombe - Protection Vice Chair, National Fire Chiefs Council
Paul Nash - Past President, Chartered Institute of Building
Dr Scott Steedman - Director of Standards, British Standards Institution (BSI)
Fayann Simpson, Group Board Member, L&Q
Professor Alistair Gibb, Professor of Construction Engineering Management, Loughborough University